School board celebrates achievement of students of African heritage

Ninety-eight York Region District School Board students recently received awards from the Alliance of Educators for Black Students (AEBS). Nine were awarded scholarships to pursue post-secondary education. The awards and scholarships are given to students who demonstrate high achievement in academics, athletics, school involvement and the arts.

Award-winning graduating students received plaques and non-graduating students received medals presented by school board staff including Louise Sirisko, education director; Corrie McBain, board chair; and veteran superintendents.

“These students have a positive effect in their schools and communities and we hope events like these continue to reward and encourage excellence,” said Cecil Roach, education, equity and community services superintendent.

Student Shamar Brown from Milliken Mills High School was awarded special recognition for his achievement. Scholarships awarded to YRDSB students included: Black Foundation of Community Network scholarship – Oluwatitomi Adebajo (Pierre Elliott Trudeau H.S.) and Haben Dawit (Emily Carr S.S.); Vilma Cornelius scholarship – Reannah Ennis (Thornlea S.S.) and Drew McFayden (Bur Oak S.S.); Paul DeLyon scholarship – Caila Palmer (Vaughan S.S.) and Tanisha Bates (Langstaff S.S.); Donna Cardoza scholarship – Mohamed Ahmed (Markham District H.S.), and Ashley Addo (Alexander Mackenzie H.S.); and Delia Harriott scholarship – Alexis Murrell (Unionville H.S.).

Photo: Shamar Brown showcases one of his chosen books during Black History Month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This